• Changes to Server go to this thread http://overzealousgamers.com/threads/etpub-changelog.6665/

I'll just leave this here - for architects/developers/etc

Sh1rts

http://forums.thedailywtf.com/forums/t/29432.aspx

So nerbItUp/Cows/etc your choices are

pragmatism (implementing the Excel solution was obviously a derp but potentially a huge money-making derp)

or

do-it-properism (which is obviously the RIGHT way but not what the "client" wanted)

what would you have done ?

Me, I'd have taken teh money and then started work on version 2.0, pending the imminent request for a less derpish variant (woot)

noobItUp

Super Moderator
Staff member
@ Sharts, go with the web services and toss the excel. I sit on an architecture review board at work and one of the main things we are tasked with is stopping this exact thing from happening. Just far too much scope for derping things up in excel.

As an architect, my job would also be to tactfully slap some sense into business stakeholder with grandiose visions of excel. This may or may not work, but at the end of the day I don't want to work in a shop that rolls like this (if business don't listen to me - forget it).

@ Bain, only some I.T. ppls calls ourselves architects. Its basically because we design how stuffs will be built. We do lots of planning and blueprints etc. Seems as good a word as any.

McBain!!

blueprints hey? sounds very architechy, so you guys design stuff and other kents build it?
I like your style..

Trigger Happy